32nd Ice Sculpture Competition

32nd Ice Sculpture Competition


The magic of the ice !
The 32st Ice Sculpture contest will last 4 days and welcomes 20 sculptors. The last day a musical and light show will close the contest.

Contest begins Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 9:00 am.
Contest ends Friday, January 12, 2024, 12:00 noon.

The competition takes place on the Verneys plateau, 3 km from Valloire.

Introduction to Ice Sculpture with sculptor Sébastien Dieu from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 3 p.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday to Thursday and 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. on Friday.

TUESDAY TO FRIDAY, you can watch and cheer on the sculptors day and night.
(Please note that, depending on the weather, the sculptures may be protected and therefore difficult to see during the day).

FRIDAY, JANUARY 12, 2024:*
12pm: end of competition
3pm: Jury passes through
6pm: Prize-giving ceremony followed by a show and fireworks display.

saturday january 13 and sunday january 14
Come and admire the works by day and by night: the sculptures will be illuminated until Sunday evening.

* Program subject to change.

On this occasion, additional free shuttles will run between Valloire and Les Verneys, at the usual stops, between 3pm and 9pm.
After the show, the sculptures will remain lit on Friday and Saturday nights (weather permitting).

The 2024* edition teams:

Australia - Starow Kevin "Fairy Tales
Austria -Palasser Helga "Farewells
Bulgaria - Lissitchkov Svetlozar "Forrest Echo
Denmark - Dusavitskiy Gleb "Hear Me
Spain - Jorda Enrique "La Espada De Damocles
Finland - Kuklina Ekaterina "I Believe I Can Fly
Iran - Chegeni Bahman "Knot (From Hands Series)
Italy - Perron Maurizio "Paths
Lithuania - Povilionis Tautvilas "Teleportation
Philippines - Cabisidan Rogel "Menu For Today
Czech Republic - Fedorak Jan "Erno Rubik 4 Portraits
United Kingdom - Lindqvist Lisa "Winter Rose
United Kingdom - Seddon Christopher "Ratlette
Russia - Molokov Andrey "Born To Soar
Serbia - Markovic Marija "Full Heart
Ukraine - Tkachivskyi Ihor "Forme De Labyrinthe" (Labyrinth Form)

Soullier Maximilien " Le Coeur D'une Caryatide " France
Nottaris Joel " Mercy For Eve'r " France
Lesigne Stéphane " Twist Au Galibier " France
Veuillet Pascal " Ode "

* Numbers and teams may be subject to change

1st Jury Prize: "Zzzzzzip" - POVILIONIS Tautvilas - LITHUANIA
2nd Jury Prize: "The Inspire" KHASHBAATAR Solongo - MONGOLIA
3rd Jury Prize: "I believe I can fly" - DUSAVITSKIY Gleb - DENMARK

Audience Award
"Zzzzzzip" - POVILIONIS Tautvilas - LITHUANIA

YOUNG Audience Award
"Vous prendsz bien une tasse de thé" - DUCRET Maxime - France

Ex-aequo: "Filter" - PERRON Maurizio - Italy
"Bubble Flow" - JORDA Enrique - SPAIN

3 Jury Prizes
1 Audience Award
1 Young Audience Award
1 Artists' Award
(sculptors taking part in the Competition
vote for their favorite sculpture)
1 Press Award
1 Internet User Award

Christian BURGER - President of the Jury
Eric MARGERY (Sculptor)
Alberte RETORNAZ - Amateur painter
Lénaïck RETORNAZ - Town councillor
Emmanuelle LACOSTE - Director of Valloire Tourisme and competition organizer

32nd Ice Sculpture Competition